Carolyn Wood Sherif Award

The Society for the Psychology of Women invites nominations for the annual Carolyn Wood Sherif Award.

The Carolyn Wood Sherif Award is the highest award conferred by the Society for the Psychology of Women (APA Division 35). It is given to a senior individual based on sustained and substantial contributions to the field of the psychology of women as a scholar, teacher, mentor, and leader. Thus, selection requires evidence of excellence across research and scholarship, teaching and mentoring, and professional leadership. The recipient receives a cash prize and is invited to deliver the Sherif Memorial Lecture at the following APA convention. The winner also chairs the award committee in the year following the lecture. Previous award winners are listed on the SPW website. Nominations are due by March 17, 2015.

Inquiries and nominations should be submitted to Stephanie Shields (

How to Apply

To nominate someone for the award, send all materials to

·         A nomination letter (including the nominee's phone number and email address)

·         The nominee's curriculum vitae

·         Copies of two or three selected publications

·         Two additional letters in support of the nominee (only three letters are considered).